Elvis Presley Home

Released : Elvis' Legendary second album, 'Elvis' from FTD

By: Elvis Australia
Source: FTD
March 24, 2014 - 5:11:10 PM
Elvis CD News, FTD News, Elvis News

Email this page.

FTD have released Elvis' Legendary second album, 'Elvis'. The original 1956 release quickly outsold the debut album. This 2-disc 7" Classic Album release includes every known outtake from the Labor-Day sessions and the booklet features great photographs taken from the photo session held in February 1956.

CD 2 features the historic live concert from Hirsch Coliseum, Youth Center, Louisiana State Fairgrounds, Shreveport, December 15, 1956. Although a 'Classic Album' release of Elvis' second album is needed from FTD sadly none of the material is unreleased. The original album was featured on the deluxe 'Young Man With The Big Beat' release - as well as the Hirsch Coliseum, December 15, 1956 performance. The 'Rip It Up' outtakes were however not featured on YMWTBB and instead have been spread across various releases.

Buy Elvis, Destination USA
Buy Elvis [1956] 2 CD FTD Classic Album

Elvis' Legendary second album, 'Elvis'.
Elvis' Legendary second album, 'Elvis'.

Track listing

Disc 1 : The Original Album

  1. Rip It Up (1:56)
  2. Love Me (2:46)
  3. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again (2:23)
  4. Long Tall Sally (1:56)
  5. First In Line (3:24)
  6. Paralyzed (2:29)
  7. So Glad You''re Mine (2:23)
  8. Old Shep (4:13)
  9. Ready Teddy (1:59)
  10. Anyplace Is Paradise (2:28)
  11. How''s The World Treating You (2:27)
  12. How Do You Think I Feel (2:15)

    Bonus Songs

  13. Playing For Keeps (2:56)
  14. Too Much (2:37)
  15. don''t Be Cruel (2:05)
  16. Hound Dog (2:18)
  17. Any Way You Want Me (That''s How I Will Be) (2:14)
  18. Rip It Up (takes 10-14) (3.08)
  19. Rip It Up (take 15) (2.05)
  20. Rip It Up (take 16) (1.59)
  21. Rip It Up (take 17) (2.06)
  22. Rip It Up (take 18-19M) (3.53)
  23. Old Shep (take 5) (4:01)

Disc 2 : Recorded live at Hirsch Coliseum - Youth Center
Louisiana State Fairgrounds, Shreveport, December 15, 1956

  1. Heartbreak Hotel (2:46)
  2. Long Tall Sally (2:46)
  3. I Was The One (2:46)
  4. Love Me Tender (2:46)
  5. don''t Be Cruel (2:46)
  6. Love Me (2:46)
  7. I Got A Woman (2:46)
  8. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again (2:46)
  9. Paralyzed (2:46)
  10. Hound Dog


Buy Elvis, Destination USA
Buy Elvis [1956] 2 CD FTD Classic Album

Musicians: Guitar: Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley; Bass: Bill Black; Drums: D.J. Fontana; Vocals: The Jordanaires.

Compilation produced and art directed by Ernst Mikael Jorgensen & Roger Semon.

Elvis 2 CD FTD Clasic Album [Special Edition] 7" Presentation 2 CD

Elvis Shop > Elvis Presley CD's > Elvis Presley FTD CD's > Elvis Classic Album

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD + 16 page booklet.

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.