Elvis Presley The KingElvis Presley Home

'Elvis Studio Sessions '56' perfect companion to 'Young Man With The Big Beat'

By: Elvis Australia
Source: www.elvis.com.au
June 18, 2017
Elvis Articles, Elvis Reviews, Elvis CD News, Elvis News

Email this page.

'Elvis Studio Sessions '56' 3 CD Boxset from 'Memphis Recording Service' is the perfect companion to the Sony 'Young Man With The Big Beat' 5 CD box-set. Whereas the Sony set gave us the masters, live recordings from Las Vegas and the Hirsch Youth Center, Louisiana along interviews and a very number of outtakes, MRS gives us both the masters and the complete 1956 sessions outtakes as well as the COMPLETE 'The Truth About Me' but also the outtakes for the 'The Truth About Me'.

The 'Elvis Studio Sessions '56' box set pays tribute to Elvis Presley's first recordings made for the RCA label in 1956. The 172-page book focuses on each of Elvis' studio recording sessions during his first year of national stardom - from the first one in January, held in Nashville, then later in New York, before finishing his final session of the year in Hollywood in September. The full and comprehensive text is complemented by rare and previously unseen photographs and pieces of documentation.

The 3 CDs contain the complete archival master and session studio recordings of Elvis Presley from 1956, along with bonus interviews. All 90 tracks have been remastered and restored to their original sound quality. Also for the first time on CD is the complete 'The Truth About Me' from an original US 45rpm flexi-disc. Although this has been claimed complete by Follow That Dream (FTD) and other past official releases, they all had a missing sentence that was on the original disc. Included also are all the outtakes from this interview.

'Elvis Studio Sessions '56' 3 CD Set from MRS.
'Elvis Studio Sessions '56' 3 CD Set from MRS.

CD 1

The 1956 RCA Studio Masters

I Got a Woman
Heartbreak Hotel
Money Honey
I'm Counting on You
I Was the One
Blue Suede Shoes
My Baby Left Me
One-Sided Love Affair
So Glad Your Mine
I'm Gonna Sit Right Down & Cry
Tutti Frutti
Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
Shake, Rattle & Rol
Don Davis Interview March 1956
I Want You, I Need You, I Love You
Hound Dog
Don't Be Cruel
Anyway You Want Me
Playing For Keeps
Love Me
How Do You Think I Feel
How's The World Treating You
When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
Long Tall Sally
Old Shep
Too Much
Anyplace Is Paradise
Ready Teddy
First in Line
Rip It Up
The Truth About Me (Original US 45rpm Interview Flexidisk)

CD 2

Movie Soundtrack Master Recordings

01) Love Me Tender (Matson/Presley) 02:41
02) Let Me (Matson/Presley) 02:07
03) Poor Boy (Matson/Presley) 02:12
04) We're Gonna Move (Matson/Presley) 02:28
05) Love Me Tender (End Title Movie Version) (Matson/Presley) 01:07

Movie Soundtrack Outtakes (Stereo)

06) We're Gonna Move (Take 4) (Matson/Presley) 02:49
07) We're Gonna Move (Take 9) (Matson/Presley) 02:47

Studio Outtakes & Sessions

08) I Got a Woman (Unknown Take)
09) I Got a Woman (Incomplete Unknown Take)
10) Heartbreak Hotel (Incomplete Take 4)
11) Heartbreak Hotel (Take 5)
12) Heartbreak Hotel (Take 6)
13) Money Honey (Incomplete Take 10)
14) I'm Counting on You (FS Take 1a & 1b)
15) I'm Counting on You (Incomplete Take 2 Dry Version)
16) I'm Counting on You (Unknown Incomplete Take)
17) I'm Counting on You (Take 13)
18) I'm Counting on You (Incomplete Take 14)
19) I Was the One (Takes 1 & 2)
20) I Was the One (Take 3)
21) I Was the One (Take 7)
22) I Was the One (Incomplete Unknown Take)
23) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Take 1)
24) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Take 3)
25) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Take 4)
26) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Take 5)
27) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Take 6)
28) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Incomplete Take 7)
29) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Incomplete Take 8 & Take 9)
30) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (Take 10)
31) Lawdy, Miss Clawdy (FS Take 11 & Take 12)

Bonus Tracks:

Movie Soundtrack Master Recordings (Stereo Versions)

32) Love Me Tender
33) Let Me
34) Poor Boy
35) We're Gonna Move

CD 3

Studio Outtakes & Sessions (Continued)

01) Shake Rattle & Roll (FS Take 1, Take 2, FS Take 3)
02) Shake Rattle & Roll (FS Take 5, FS Take 6, Take 7)
03) Shake Rattle & Roll (Take 8)
04) Shake Rattle & Roll (FS Take 9, FS Take 10, FS Take 11)
05) Shake Rattle & Roll (Take 12)
06) Shake Rattle & Roll (Take 12 Unedited Un-dubbed Master)
07) Shake Rattle & Roll (Take 12 Edit Un-dubbed Master)
08) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Take 3)
09) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Take 4)
10) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Take 13)
11) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Incomplete Take 14)
12) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Take 15)
13) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Take 16)
14) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You (Take 17)
15) Old Shep (Take 5)
16) Rip It Up (FS on Takes 10, 11, 12, 13, Take 14)
17) Rip It Up (Take 15)
18) Rip It Up (Take 16)
19) Rip It Up (Take 17)
20) Rip It Up (LFS Take 18)

The Truth About Me (Interview Outtakes)

21) The Truth About Me (Take 3)
22) The Truth About Me (Take 2)
23) The Truth About Me (Take 1)

© Copyright 2018 by www.elvis.com.au & www.elvispresley.com.au

Published Link | https://www.elvis.com.au/presley/elvis-studio-sessions-56-perfect-companion-young-man-with-the-big-beat.shtml

No part of any article on this site may be re-printed for public display without permission.

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD Video with Sound.

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever. + Plus Bonus DVD Audio.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.