Elvis Presley The KingElvis Presley Home

FTD | Elvis Collectors Label | Classic Elvis Albums on CD

Review | Elvis Live 1969 | 11 CD Boxset from Sony Music


By: Elvis Australia
Source: Rolling Stone
August 20, 2019
Elvis Reviews, Elvis Articles, Elvis CD Reviews, Video and Audio, Elvis News

Email this page.

Elvis Presley's comeback of the late 1960s is often reduced to his spectacular reemergence in 1968, an event designed for a mass audience watching at home on television. That NBC special from December 1968 certainly earned the attention of an audience who hadn't paid attention to Elvis in years, but in many ways, Elvis' real comeback didn't happen until 1969. During 1969, he recorded a series of sessions with producer Chips Moman in American Sound Studio, music that put him firmly at the crossroads of contemporary pop, rock, soul, and country while also reviving his commercial fortunes. Just as importantly, Elvis didn't limit his comeback to the studio: he performed on-stage for the first time in eight years.

Elvis Presley Video I Got a Woman (8/21/69 Midnight Show) (02:30) | Unreleased

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates: Video courtesy of Elvis Presley Video Elvis Presley Video Central.

At only 34, Elvis is lean and at the top of his vocal game, if overly corny when he banters with the audience. The vehicle for Elvis' return to the stage was a four-week residency at the brand-new International Hotel in Las Vegas, where he played two shows a night for seven nights a week during the month of August. Highlights were rushed into the store in the form of From Memphis to Vegas/From Vegas to Memphis -- a two-LP set that paired the live record with a platter of selections from the American Sound session -- and other recordings trickled out over the years, but Live 1969 is the first serious archival release of this pivotal event in Elvis' history.

Elvis Live 1969 Boxset.

'Elvis Live 1969' presents 11 full shows from this run, including two shows that are entirely unreleased. Taken individually, as a concert at the time, the music is wonderful. Working with a band highlighting guitarist James Burton, Elvis is clearly invigorated by performing music in front of an adoring audience. He's playing with the crowd, enticing shrieks and gales of laughter, but he seems to get more sustenance by singing with a live band. This is especially true of the clutch of new songs from 1969, a songbook which includes 'In the Ghetto' and 'Suspicious Minds.

'Suspicious Minds', then just a week or so into its life as a single, is majestic, with Elvis possessed by the pounding rhythm of drummer Ronnie Tutt. The 'Mystery Train/Tiger Man' mash-up is equally combustible, summoning the same dangerous energy that Elvis first let loose in the Fifties as a hip-shaking parental nightmare. And 'In the Ghetto', the entertainer's earnest 1968 attempt at social commentary, is more urgent than schmaltzy. Here, Elvis is thoroughly invested in his performance, while also figuring out how to perform as a mature musician, not a young firebrand. He's turning himself into a showman, one who makes corny jokes and pours his heart out on-stage. Listening to that evolution on Live 1969 is a riveting experience.

But it's Elvis' covers of then-contemporary songs that are most fascinating. He imbues the Beatles' 'Yesterday' and 'Hey Jude' with Southern soul, and transforms Ray Charles' 'What'd I Say' into an unrelenting rock rave-up. For Del Shannon's 'Runaway', he all but owns the lyric's heartbreak. Shannon is in the audience for one performance, and Elvis gives him props from the stage. (Listen closely to hear him directing imposing Memphis Mafia member Lamar Fike to find Shannon.)

Elvis Presley Video Memories (8/21/69 Midnight Show) (03:50) | Unreleased

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates: Video courtesy of Elvis Presley Video Elvis Presley Video Central.

The gig is the same one during which Elvis comes to pieces in 'Are You Lonesome Tonight?' supposedly tickled by Sweet Inspirations singer Cissy Houston's ability to keep on singing, unfazed, while Elvis goes further and further off the rails. Still frazzled, he screws up 'Rubberneckin' immediately afterward and asks the band to restart the tune a full 45 seconds in.

With Elvis reciting the same stage patter nearly word-for-word in each of the 11 concerts, it's these gaffes and unexpected moments that keep 'Elvis Live 1969' from becoming just an overly repetitive entry for Elvis completists. Instead, the box set serves as a snapshot of a world-class entertainer successfully but gingerly rediscovering the magic that made him so in the first place.

Some of Elvis' ad-libbed asides can be laugh-out-loud funny. Noting Las Vegas' desert conditions, Elvis remarks that he's so parched it feels like 'Bob Dylan slep' in ya mouth'; at another show, he informs the audience of 'a little bitty dead lizard' sharing his stage. He distributes innumerable cartoonish wet smacks to ecstatic women demanding kisses. He tweaks the memorable refrain of 'Heartbreak Hotel' into an even more memorable, 'I get so horny I could die'. Whether these outbursts are a result of drugs or just Elvis' natural state is indiscernible.

Most of this material has already been issued piecemeal in some form already so it is important to note that the sound quality is excellent and an improvement over the old releases One thing I noticed that I have not before is the subtleties in the music, the extra detail that was not there in other years.

While Elvis gave us so many vocal differences through the years as his voice matured 1969 is the year where he gave us the very best Rock N Roll outside of the 1950s while at the same time a much more mature and improved vocal with ballads and more. Plus there are four (4) totally new concerts released in full for the first time.

Elvis Presley Video Blue Suede Shoes (8/21/69 Midnight Show) (02:48) | Unreleased

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates: Video courtesy of Elvis Presley Video Elvis Presley Video Central.

The set features one show entirely unreleased and complete and newly mixed and mastered shows. First chronicled in part on the album Elvis In Person At The International Hotel 50 years ago, Live 1969 showcases this incredibly, important phase in Elvis' career in definitive detail – his first live shows following his triumphant, 1968 comeback for NBC after an 8-year absence from playing live. This box set features 11 complete sets from the first of his many engagements at The International Hotel (several of which are released in full for the first time, with one show entirely unreleased), allowing fans a more definitive picture of The King's glorious return to the concert stage. The 52-page book includes rare photos, memorabilia and an oral history by Ken Sharp curated from historic interviews with Elvis, Colonel Tom ParkerTom JonesJerry SchillingJames Burton and more.

This (and no doubt the soon to be released Elvis American Sound 1969) is a must-have!!!!

Buy Elvis Live 1969 11 CD Boxset

Track listing.

Disc 1

Show 1 – August 21, 1969. Midnight show

01) Blue Suede Shoes* (Carl Perkins)
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) Memories (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
09) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
10) Monologue*
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
12) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
13) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
14) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
15) Introductions including 'Happy Birthday' sung to James Burton)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set 08-13-1991
16) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
17) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
18) What'd I Say (Ray Charles)
19) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Tracks 2-9, 11-19 first issued on the album Viva Las Vegas-7-31-2007
*Previously unreleased

Elvis Presley Video View 'Live 1969' Project Trailer (01:18)

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates: Video courtesy of Elvis Presley Video Elvis Presley Video Central.

Disc 2

Show 2 – August 22, 1969. Dinner show

1) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
First release: RCA Walmart Special (US) & International BMG 'Elvis Viva Las Vegas' 2-CD set- 07-31-2007
2) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
3) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
4) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
5) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
6) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
7) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
8) Memories (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
9) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
10) Monologue | First release: RCA Walmart Special (US) & International BMG 'Elvis Viva Las Vegas' 2-CD- 07-31-2007
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
12) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
13) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
14) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
15) Introductions
16) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
17) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
18) What'd I Say (Ray Charles)
19) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Complete show release: FTD 'Elvis In Person At The International Hotel', Las Vegas, Nevada 2-CD-12-2008

Disc 3

Show 3 – August 22, 1969. Midnight show

1) Blue Suede Shoes* (Carl Perkins)
2) I Got A Woman * (Ray Charles)
3) All Shook Up* (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
4) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
5) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD -08-13-1991
6) Heartbreak Hotel* (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
7) Hound Dog* (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
8) Memories* (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
9) My Babe (Willie Dixon) | First release: RCA 'Elvis: Today, Tomorrow & Forever' 4-CD Set 06-25-2002
10) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set -08-13-1991
11) Monologue*
12) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed) | First release: RCA 'Elvis: Today, Tomorrow & Forever' 4-CD Set-06-25-2002
13) Funny How Time Slips Away (Willie Nelson) | First release: RCA 'Elvis: Today, Tomorrow & Forever' 4-CD Set-06-25-2002
14) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon) | First release: RCA 'Elvis: Today, Tomorrow & Forever' 4-CD Set-06-25-2002
15) Are You Lonesome Tonight?* (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
16) Yesterday/Hey Jude* (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
17) Introductions*
18) In The Ghetto* (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
19) Suspicious Minds* (Mark James)
20) What'd I Say (Ray Charles) | First release: RCA 'Elvis: Today, Tomorrow & Forever' 4-CD Set 06-25-2002
21) Can't Help Falling In Love* (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

*Previously unreleased
Previously Unreleased as a Complete Show

Elvis Presley Video View 'Unboxing' 'Live 1969' (04:52)

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates: Video courtesy of Elvis Presley Video Elvis Presley Video Central.

Disc 4

Show 4 – August 23, 1969. Dinner show
01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) Memories (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
09) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
10) Monologue
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
12) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
13) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
14) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
15) Introductions
16) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
17) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
18) What'd I Say (Ray Charles)
19) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

First release: RCA 2-LP set The International Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada, August 23, 1969- 04-13-2019

Disc 5

Show 5 – August 23, 1969. Midnight show

01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) Memories (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
09) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
10) Monologue
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
12) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
13) Reconsider Baby (Lowell Fulsom)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set -08-13-1991
14) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
15) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney) (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
16) Introductions
17) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
18) Suspicious Minds (Mark Davis)
19) What'd I Say (Ray Charles) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set 08-13-1991
An edited version was first released on RCA 'Elvis-Greatest Hits Volume One' 11-1981
20) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Complete show release: FTD 'Elvis At The International'- 01-2003

Disc 6

Show 6 – August 24, 1969. Dinner show

01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set 08-13-1991
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) I Can't Stop Loving You (Don Gibson)
09) Johnny B. Goode (Chuck Berry)
10) Monologue
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
12) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
13) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
14 Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney) | First release: ('Yesterday' only) RCA 'Elvis Aron Presley' 8-LP set 08-1980
15) Introductions
16) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
17) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
18) What'd I Say (Ray Charles)
19) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Complete show release: RCA 'Live In Las Vegas' 4-CD set -7-10-2001

Disc 7

Show 7- August 24, 1969. Midnight show

01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)- 11-2006
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)- 11-2006
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)- 11-2006
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)- 11-2006
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)- 11-2006
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)-11-2006
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)-11-2006
08) I Can't Stop Loving You* (Don Gibson)
09) Johnny B. Goode (Chuck Berry)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2 LP set-10-14-1969
10) Monologue*
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
First release: RCA 'Platinum – A Life In Music' 4 CD set-7-15-1997
12) Runaway* (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
13) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2 LP set-10-14-1969
14) Words (Robin, Barry & Maurice Gibb)
First release: RCA 'Platinum – A Life In Music' 4 CD set-7-15-1997
15) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)- 11-2006
16) Introductions*
17) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
First release: RCA 'Elvis Aron Presley' 8-LP set 08-1980
18) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)-11-2006
19) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)-11-2006

*Previously unreleased
Previously Unreleased as a Complete Show

Disc 8

Show 8 – August 25, 1969. Dinner show

01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set -08-13-1991
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
03) All Shook Up* (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04) Love Me Tender* (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel* (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel* (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog* (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) Memories (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
09) Mystery Train/Tiger Man* (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/(Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
10) Monologue*
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do* (Jimmy Reed)
12) Funny How Time Slips Away (Willie Nelson)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
13) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
First release: RCA 'On Stage – February', 1970-06-01-1970
14) Words (Robin, Barry & Maurice Gibb)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)-11-2006
15) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
First release: ('Yesterday'): RCA 'On Stage – February', 1970-06-01-1970
First release: ('Hey Jude'): RCA 'On Stage' (1999 re-release)-05-18-1999
16) Introductions*
17) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
18) Suspicious Minds* (Mark James)
19) What'd I Say* (Ray Charles)
20) Can't Help Falling In Love* (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

*Previously unreleased
Previously Unreleased as a Complete Show

Disc 9

Show 9 – August 25, Midnight show

01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set 10-14-1969
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
08) I Can't Stop Loving You (Don Gibson)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
09) My Babe (Willie Dixon)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
10) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
11) Monologue
12) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
13) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
14) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
15) Words (Robin, Barry & Maurice Gibb)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
16) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
17) Introductions
18) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
First release: FTD 'Writing For The King' (book & 2-CD set)-11-2006
19) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
20) What'd I Say (Ray Charles)
21) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Complete show release: FTD 'Hot August Night'-06-2013

Disc 10

Show 10 – August 26, 1969. Dinner show
01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) Memories (Billy Strange/Scott 'Mac' Davis)
09) My Babe (Willie Dixon)
First release: RCA 'Elvis Aron Presley' 8-LP set -08-1980
10) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
11) Monologue
12) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
13) Runaway (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
14) Inherit The Wind (Eddie Rabbitt) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
15) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
16) Introductions
17) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
18) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969
19) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)
First release: RCA 'From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis' 2-LP set-10-14-1969

Complete show release: FTD 'Live In Vegas'-02-2011

Disc 11

Show 11 – August 26, 1969. Midnight show

01) Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
02) I Got A Woman (Ray Charles)
03) All Shook Up (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04) Love Me Tender (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
05) Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/ (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
06) Heartbreak Hotel (Tommy Durden/Mae Boren Axton/Elvis Presley)
07) Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
08) I Can't Stop Loving You (Don Gibson)
09) Mystery Train/Tiger Man (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/ (Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
10) Monologue
11) Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Jimmy Reed)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
12) Runaway Max Crook/Del Shannon)
First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
13) Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Laughing version) (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
First release: RCA 'Elvis Aron Presley' 8-LP set-08-1980
14) Rubberneckin' (Dory Jones/Bunny Warren) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991 (complete version only)
15) Yesterday/Hey Jude (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/ (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
16) Introductions
17) In The Ghetto (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
18) This Is The Story (Chris Arnold/Geoff Morrow/David Martin) | First release: RCA 'Collectors Gold' 3-CD set-08-13-1991
19) Suspicious Minds (Mark James)
20) Can't Help Falling In Love (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Complete show release: FTD 'All Shook Up'-07-2005

© Copyright 2019 by www.elvis.com.au & www.elvispresley.com.au

Published Link | https://www.elvis.com.au/presley/reviews/review-elvis-live-1969-boxset.shtml

No part of any article on this site may be re-printed for public display without permission.


-
Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever. + Plus Bonus DVD Audio.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD Video with Sound.