Review | Elvis Live 1969 | Disc 9 | August 25, 1969


By: David Troedson
Source: Elvis Australia
August 25, 2019

Review

I have now enjoyed each of the 11 discs on the fantastic 'Elvis Live 1969' boxset and while all concerts are first class, one stands out for special mention. Disc 9. Elvis was in fine form on this hot August night on August 25, 1969, a performance perhaps never to be beaten. This concert is arguably the best live recording of Elvis Presley in 1969, and is one of the best concerts Elvis Presley ever performed - both in sound quality and performance!

I could say, listen to it and you will agree, but I offer you an interesting fact, it was from this concert that RCA chose to use seven (7) of the tracks to make up the original 12 track 'Elvis In Person' album in 1969. This is 58% of the album's tracks. And this is from the good number of concerts recorded of which several have been released on CD by Sony and FTD. (Yes the original was released as a double LP, 'From Memphis To Vegas' / 'From Vegas To Memphis', but today both discs are known by their separate titles, 'Elvis In Person' and 'Back In Memphis').

What more can you ask for?

Well, a plus is the notable guests Elvis introduces ...

  • Tom Jones
  • Mac Davis
  • Nancy Sinatra
  • Buddy Hacket
  • Shelley Fabares

'Some people in the audience I would like you to say hello too tonight ... First of all the young lady ... I don't know what to say ... just made a movie with her, I really dig her ... she's fantastic, I'd like you to say hello to Miss Nancy Sinatra ... my girl, my girl ...' '

There's a guy sitting in her booth that's one hell of a songwriter ... he has written some beautiful stuff and he wrote one of my biggest records, I'd like you to say hello to Mac Davis, he wrote In The Ghetto ... ' Then Elvis introduces comedian Buddy Hacket with a funny story about a letter Hacket wrote to him while in the service in Germany.

Then the big one, and for the first time in full quality audio, .... 'The other guy in the audience ... this guy is one of the finest performers I have ever seen ... he is also my good friend, Thomas Jones ... you bet your bird'. 'The old home town don't look the same Tom' ...

And last but not least ... 'I'd like to introduce you to a young lady that I have done three pictures with ... and she's the most lovely creature I have ever met man, and she's a lovely person on top of it, she's a good actress ... miss Shelley Fabares' ... and then fittingly, a beautiful performance of Mac Davis's In The Ghetto.

Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Elvis Introduces Tom Jones (00:34)

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates | Video courtesy of Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Central.

Elvis Live 1969 Boxset.

Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Elvis Introduces Mac Davis + 'In The Ghetto' (02:59)

Listen to Elvis introduce Mac Davis, then listen to In The Ghetto [Edited together].

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates | Video courtesy of Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Central.

The Songs

Following In The Ghetto is Suspicious Minds and it has a faster tempo than normal, one which gave me a nice surprise and I enjoyed the change. I am not going to write about each song, to be honest, it is not my forte, perhaps Troy Yeary will honor us with a more in-depth review, but I will 'pinch' Troy's text regarding the seven tracks from this date used on 'Elvis In Person' from his review of the same, but I reinitiate that Elvis' performance of each and every song is top shelf it is what really sets this CD apart from any other is the sound quality, Vic Anesini has excelled in bringing out the best sound fittingly to match a great performance.

Troy Yeary's review of the seven songs included in the 'Elvis in Person' album.

Blue Suede Shoes

8/25/1969 Midnight Show (MS) [2:05]: With trumpets blaring, the show begins with Elvis' rockin' take of this Carl Perkins classic. This is Elvis' best live version of this song from the 1969-1977 era.

All Shook Up

8/25/1969 MS [2:07]: By 1972, this song had become a throw-away, but in 1969 Elvis still rocked his 1957 hit. At the end of this track, Elvis notes that 'This is my first live appearance in nine years' ...

And we hear much more than on 'Elvis In Person', the complete Elvis, uncut.

Hound Dog

8/25/1969 MS [1:53]: For the 1969-1977 phase of his career, this is the definitive live version of 'Hound Dog'. Though this would also eventually become a throwaway, Elvis really kicks the song into high gear here.

Now being the complete concert we hear more, in the case here, following after Hound Dog Elvis entertains including reprising the '68 Comeback Special antics with the microphone stand and shouting 'Moby Dick'.

Elvis Presley Video View 'Live 1969' Project Trailer (01:18)

Click to view the video

Elvis News Latest Audio (and video) updates: Video courtesy of Elvis Presley Video Elvis Presley Video Central.

I Can't Stop Loving You

8/25/1969 MS [3:19]: This is a fine version of this song, though I prefer the August 24 Dinner Show. He performed this one better in 1970, anyway.

My Babe

8/25/1969 MS [2:05]: Elvis really rocks this Willie Dixon blues classic. This is definitely one of the highlights of this album. This is easily the best of the three versions released thus far.

Mystery Train/Tiger Man

8/25/1969 MS [3:43]: This is a fantastic version of the 'Mystery Train' and 'Tiger Man' medley that keeps the rocking spirit of this album moving. I prefer the excitement of the 1969 and 1970 live versions of 'Tiger Man' over the version performed for the 1968 TV special.

Words

8/25/1969 MS [2:45]: Elvis slows things down a bit with this beautiful cover of the 1968 hit by the Bee Gees. I prefer his August 1970 versions, but this is probably the best 1969 version.

Of note, both Runaway and Yesterday that were included on On Stage Feb. 1970 were taken from the Dinner Show on this day and In The Ghetto was included on 'Elvis In Person', so we have another classic concert release in the form of the August 25, DS to look forward to in the future.

The Verdict

Well, I gave this away in the opening, didn't I.

All that is left then is to say then is - buy 'Elvis Live 1969' and enjoy this concert along with 10 other great performances, Elvis style.

You won't be disappointed.

Songs: 10 (Out of 10)
Audio Quality:
10
Cover Art:
10
Packaging:
10
Overall Experience:
10

Worth a mention

Not on this disc but on the set is the laughing version of Are You Lonesome Tonight? along with rare performances of Rubberneckin' Reconsider Baby, What'd I SayInherit The Wind and This Is The Story.

Buy Now.

Track listing

  1. Elvis Presley Lyrics Blue Suede Shoes 3:06 (Carl Perkins)
  2. Elvis Presley Lyrics I Got A Woman 2:44 (Ray Charles)
  3. Elvis Presley Lyrics All Shook Up 3:50 (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
  4. Elvis Presley Lyrics Monologue 1:14
  5. Elvis Presley Lyrics Love Me Tender 3:04 (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
  6. Elvis Presley Lyrics Jailhouse Rock / Don't Be Cruel 2:23 (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
  7. Elvis Presley Lyrics Heartbreak Hotel 4:56 (Mae Boren Axton/Tommy Durden/Elvis Presley)
  8. Elvis Presley Lyrics Hound Dog 1:35 (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
  9. Elvis Presley Lyrics I Can't Stop Loving You 2:37 (Don Gibson)
  10. Elvis Presley Lyrics My Babe 4:23 (Willie Dixon)
  11. Elvis Presley Lyrics Mystery Train / Tiger Man 3:39 (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
  12. Elvis Presley Lyrics Life Story 8:39
  13. Elvis Presley Lyrics Baby, What You Want Me To Do 3:29 (Jimmy Reed)
  14. Elvis Presley Lyrics Runaway 2:58 (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
  15. Elvis Presley Lyrics Are You Lonesome Tonight? 3:04 (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
  16. Elvis Presley Lyrics Words 2:42 (Robin, Barry and Maurice Gibb)
  17. Elvis Presley Lyrics Yesterday / Hey Jude 4:35 (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
  18. Elvis Presley Lyrics Introductions 4:35
  19. Elvis Presley Lyrics In The Ghetto 3:04 (Scott 'Mac' Davis)
  20. Elvis Presley Lyrics Suspicious Minds 7:48 (Mark James)
  21. Elvis Presley Lyrics What'd I Say 3:49 (Ray Charles)
  22. Elvis Presley Lyrics Can't Help Falling In Love 2:10 (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Recorded live on stage at The International Hotel, Las Vegas August 25, 1969. Midnight show.

Credits

Compilation produced and art directed by Ernst Mikael Jorgensen & Roger Semon.

Guitar: James Burton, John Wilkinson, Elvis Presley, Charlie Hodge
Bass: Jerry Scheff
Drums: Ronnie Tutt
Piano & Organ: Larry Muhoberac
Vocals: The Sweet Inspirations, The Imperials.
Bobby Morris and his Orchestra
Compilation produced and art directed by Ernst Mikael Jorgensen & Roger Semon
Mixed and mastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios, New York.

© Copyright 2019 by www.elvis.com.au & www.elvispresley.com.au

This page. https://www.elvis.com.au/presley/reviews/review-elvis-live-august-25-1969.shtml

No part of any article on this site may be re-printed for public display without permission.


-
Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever. + Plus Bonus DVD Audio.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD Video with Sound.