Review | Promised Land FTD 2 CD Classic Album

By: David Tinson
Source: Elvis Australia
August 27, 2021


Follow That Dream's 'Promised Land' completes the STAX trilogy and the 2-CD version is a welcome addition to the growing catalogue of collectors releases. The 1974 released classic album includes: yearning ballads, funk, late night laments – and a burning Chuck Berry cover that could melt speaker grills. Elvis was a huge Chuck Berry fan and the feeling was mutual. There's a great story about Elvis and his entourage walking into the duck walking legends Vegas show around 1972-73, and sitting in a front row booth and calling out to him to play his favourite hits, Chuck duly obliged (Jerry Shilling book : Me and a Guy Named Elvis).

Elvis takes Chuck Berry's classic 1964 musical travelogue Promised Land and amps it in a rocking tour-de-force - and it's fantastic to hear takes 3, 4, powered by Ronnie Tutt's powerhouse drumming and James Burton's driving guitar. Elvis is working towards the master, but with a meticulous ear stops the song mid-intro, it's a fascinating moment and is a great example of how in control he was ... On the lyric he sings: 'there's an uncle who cares a lot about me' which is similar to the Berry classic, 'Memphis Tennessee' (also recorded by Elvis) – it's fascinating to hear him get to grips with the lyrics which are almost perfect except for the aforementioned 'uncle' lyric. He then nails it on the stunning high-octane Promised Land master (take 6), and a snippet of Columbus Stockade Blues is also sung before the intro. Columbus Stockade Blues is a traditional country song that dates back to the 1930s, Elvis loved singing it, evident in his short rendition, but what if it had appeared on the Promised Land album proper? It's another highlight of the FTD release, but there's so much more ...

Elvis : Promised Land : FTD 2 CD Special Edition 7" Classic Album Presentation.
Elvis : Promised Land : FTD 2 CD Special Edition 7" Classic Album Presentation.

The heartbreaking ballad – It's Midnight - take 7 is gorgeous, but it has to be said all the takes offer something a little different, whether it's Elvis joking with his musicians (takes 1-4, 8), and the beautiful reading of the Billy Ed Wheeler's / Jerry Chesnut lyrics - Elvis sings: 'Where is all my self control, I'm burning way down in my soul, and needing you,' it's stunning, and beautifully written, it's one of the most overlooked ballads of his entire career; the delicate, emotive phrasing after the chorus: 'lord, I miss you' is heartfelt and poignant, with Elvis pouring his heart out in a masterly performance.

The album is a compelling listen with something for everyone. The funky If You Talk In Your Sleep take 5, with James Burton's bluesy, infectious guitar riff, is just delicious! But there's more on CD-2 with take 6 and 9 adding to the funky mix. Furthermore the sound is clear, defined, and detailed with every instrument in harmony. The sound is simply stunning! Hats off to Mr. Anesini especially after the reported sound difficulties.

More standouts: Love Song Of The Year (rehearsal) is great fun, Elvis is having a great time on this one, and it's sure to make you smile ... likewise Thinking About You rehearsal + take 2, & take 3, has it's moments too. On the 'The Making of' (CD-2), Elvis is letting loose and having fun in the moment and it's a sheer joy to hear.

The new Vic Anesini mixes reveal more detail and add a wonderful freshness to the recordings, all the songs benefit in a new light and one example is Love Song of The Year which, love it or loathe it sounds good here. Wonderful lyrics, Elvis sings: 'That I let love slip through my fingers like a golden breath of air. If I cared I wouldn't be singing this love song of the year'. The 'golden breath' of air lyric is startling in its imagery – that's the magic of a great singer interpreting the simple but effecting lyric. Additionally, There's A Honky Tonk Angel's theme of neglected love and the dimming of the home-fires has never sounded as good on take-1.

The Promised Land album is indeed a classic but by including the alternate album and 'the making of' – it's now widescreen ... To sum up, Elvis took us on a trip to the promised land that's one hell of a ride – Kudos to the FTD team for releasing the ultimate edition of a classic album.

Elvis Presley CD, Book and DVD Reviews Review : Elvis Sings The Wonderful World Of Christmas FTD 2 CD Special Edition

Buy Promised Land : FTD 2 CD Classic Album
Buy Elvis Sings The Wonderful World Of Christmas : FTD 2 CD Classic Album

Track listing

Promised land : Elvis Presley CD

Disc 1

The Original Album

  1. Promised Land
  2. There's A Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In)
  3. Help Me
  4. Mr. Songman
  5. Love Song Of The Year
  6. It's Midnight
  7. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming
  8. If You Talk In Your Sleep
  9. Thinking About You
  10. You Asked Me To

    Session Highlights : The Alternate Album
  11. Promised Land : take 4
  12. There's A Honky Tonk Angel : takes 3,2,7
  13. Help Me - take 1 (undubbed master)
  14. Mr. Songman : take 2
  15. Love Song Of The Year : take 1
  16. It's Midnight : take 9
  17. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming - take 10
  18. If You Talk In Your Sleep - take 5
  19. Thinking About You : take 4
  20. You Asked Me To : ?

    More Session Highlights

  21. Promised Land : take 5
  22. Love Song Of The Year : take 7
  23. It's Midnight : take 11
  24. Thinking About You : takes 5,6
  25. You Asked Me To : ?

Disc 2

The Sessions : The Making Of

  1. It's Midnight : takes 1-4, 8,7
  2. You Asked Me To : ?
  3. Mr. Songman : take 1
  4. Thinking About You : rehearsal
  5. Thinking About You : take 3
  6. Promised Land : take 3,2
  7. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming : takes 2,3
  8. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming : take 4
  9. There's A Honky Tonk Angel : take 1
  10. Love Song Of The Year : rehearsal
  11. Love Song Of The Year : take 2
  12. It's Midnight : take 10
  13. If You Talk In Your Sleep : takes 6,7, 8
  14. Mr. Songman : takes 3,6
  15. Love Song Of The Year : takes x,y, 8 (undubbed master)
  16. You Asked Me To : take 3B (4 ??)
  17. There's A Honky Tonk Angel : takes ?
  18. It's Midnight : takes 15,16
  19. Promised Land : take 6 : undubbed master
  20. Thinking About You : ?
  21. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming : take 8
  22. Your Love's Been A Long Time Coming : take 9


Personnel includes: Elvis Presley, Voice, J.D. Sumner & The Stamps (vocals).

Producer: John Snyder.

Reissue producers: Ernst Mikael Jorgensen, Roger Semon.

Recorded in Memphis, Tennessee in December 1973.

Elvis Shop > Elvis Presley CD's > Elvis Presley FTD CD's > Elvis Classic Album

© Copyright 2024 by &

This page.

No part of any article on this site may be re-printed for public display without permission.

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever. + Plus Bonus DVD Audio.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD Video with Sound.