Elvis Presley Home

Elvis Presley Reviews by David Troedson

Read the latest Elvis Presley articles and reviews by David Troedson.

Elvis Presley CD, Book and DVD Reviews Also see reviews writen by Daniel Avram.

Elvis Presley CD, Book and DVD Reviews Elvis CD Reviews | Elvis Presley : Follow That Dream CDs | Elvis DVD Reviews | Elvis Book Reviews

A-Z Index of Elvis reviews

Review : Elvis Country FTD Special Edition 2 CD Set

How do you follow up an album like From Elvis In Memphis and the singles and follow up album that flowed from the 1969 recording sessions at Chip's Moman's Memphis American Sound Studio's? In February 1970 RCA recorded Elvis live in Las Vegas and released the classic live album, On Stage, but it was not until June of that year that Elvis re-entered a studio to cut an album proper. Elvis Country was the result, released in January 1971, it was Elvis' only real concept album and in my opinion does rate as Elvis best album. Elvis recorded country music throughout his career - from classics at Sun sessions in the Fifties to unrepentant schlock. 1971's Elvis Country isn't as famous as his 1969 landmark From Elvis In Memphis but it's one of his most consistent, thematically tight albums, showing off his voice in boundless, effortless form and taking on a set of songs he had a deep connection with.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis CD Reviews > FTD > By David Troedson

The Death Of Elvis Presley : August 16, 1977

Elvis Presley died at Graceland on August 16, 1977. He was 42 years old. Listen to Tony Prince announce Elvis Presley's death on Radio Luxembourg and the first hour of his show, (46:53), Vernon Presley Talks to the Media (August 16, 1977), View videos, Metamorphosis of Elvis Presley & Old Friend by Bill Medley, Elvis Presley Funeral Procession August 18, 1977 and November 1977, first time the public were allowed to view Elvis' grave. President Carter statement, photos, the original news story and more. The manner in which the major television networks handled the news of Elvis' death illustrated his enormous popularity and the tremendous impact he had on America, something few realized until he was gone.
Elvis Biography > Elvis Articles > Elvis News > By David Troedson

Elvis Presley And The Events Of 1977

Elvis Presley & the event of 1977. A detailed look at the years events. Updated.
Elvis Biography > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra CD

Where is your copy of the 'If I Can Dream': Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra' CD? Filed away, among your current played CDs, or perhaps is it open with the disc in your CD player? After a period of it being 'left' on the shelf' after the heady times of its release nine months ago, recently I have had the album out and I have since played the CD several times, and I find I l still love this CD, with the exception of one track ('Fever' with Michael Bublé) so without any doubt for me this album has stood a good test of time, and I don't have any doubt I be able to say the same in ten years’ time!

Review : On Stage : February, 1970 : FTD 2 CD Special Edition Classic Album

Mike Hermenet and David Troedson have teamed up to Review the On Stage : February, 1970 : FTD 2 CD Special Edition Classic Album containing a CDs worth of unreleased material from the FTD vaults.

Elvis Presley and the Police

If Elvis Presley had not grown up to be the King of Rock 'n' Roll, there's a chance he would have been a police officer, such was his deep respect for law enforcement. As a youngster, Presley wanted to grow up to be a policeman, according to press accounts in the 1970s. He collected badges. If he performed in a city, he’d want a badge from there. What he wanted was not merely an honorary badge, but a real one. And he obtained several, some with his name or initials inscribed on them. But Elvis had some fun too, in the 1970s, he was known to actually pull over speeding drivers and flash one of his various badges and lecture them. Then, give an autograph and speed away, leaving behind a stunned person with an awesome story. To achieve this Elvis actually had a flashing blue light that he would put on the roof when required. Elvis also obtained a police radio and a revolving blue light to put on top of the car roof. 
Elvis Articles > Elvis Biography > Elvis News > By David Troedson

Remembering Elvis Presley and Muhammad Ali

My first hero, and a very good friend of and to Elvis, Muhammad Ali has died today. It is hardly surprising that Muhammad Ali and Elvis Presley became good friends, their backgrounds were so similar and they became the two arms of the pincer movement of civil rights within entertainment and sport. Muhammad Ali : 'Elvis Presley was the sweetest, most humble and nicest man you'd want to know'.

Review : Elvis : Hot August Night : August 25, 1969 : Midnight Show

Elvis was in fine form on this 'Hot August Night' of the 25th of August 1969, a performance perhaps never to be beaten. For those that only read the summery of reviews, I can be quite clear, this concert is without doubt the best live recording released to-date of Elvis Presley in 1969, and is one of the best concerts Elvis Presley ever performed - both in sound quality and performance! Why? I could say, listen to it and you will agree, but I offer you an interesting fact, it was from this concert that RCA chose to use seven (7) of the tracks to make up the original 12 track 'Elvis In Person' album in 1969. This is 58% of the albums tracks. And this is from the good number of concerts recorded of which several have been released on CD by FTD. So crystal clear stereo sound and a great performance.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis Articles > FTD > Elvis News > By David Troedson

Record Review : Elvis : Such A Night In Pearl Harbor 'Record Store Day' 2 x LP Record

When it is said of Elvis' return to the stage in Las Vegas in 1969 was his 'first live performance in 8 years', this concert is the one referenced - and as a 'last' concert for so long - fittingly it was a powerhouse performance, exciting for what it was, but disappointing in that the 1960s were not full of, and known for such performances instead of just movies.

Record Review : The Complete Louisiana Hayride Archives 1954-1956 RSD 2 LP

Memphis Recording Service (MRS) released 'The Complete Louisiana Hayride Archives 1954-1956' as a limited edition 1000 copies only double vinyl LP Record for 'Record Store Day' (RSD) April 16, 2016. The first thing that immediately strikes you with this latest package from MRS is the high-quality that MRS releases have now become famous for. 'The Complete Louisiana Hayride Archives 1954-1956' is a gorgeous 24 page Gatefold with many rare and unreleased photographs. It contains extensive linear notes, with informative and historical facts on Elvis' time with the Louisiana Hayride. This double LP focus' on one of the earliest parts of Elvis' career ... perhaps one of the most important parts of Elvis' career. As fine a release as the CD version was, it just can't compete with a 12 inch by 12 inch 24 page booklet!

Record Review : Elvis, Showroom Internationale 'Record Store Day' 2 LP

'Legacy Records' Elvis Presley 'Record Store Day' release for 2014 was, 'Showroom Internationale', a special numbered 2 x LP deluxe gatefold (picture below) pressed on 180G vinyl and is one of the best 'RSD' offerings so far. This show was recorded on August 12, 1970 at the Dinner Show concert when Elvis was filming the documentary 'That's the Way It Is'. This is Elvis performing at an absolute peak of his vocal prowess. The sound quality on this 17-track double LP is as stellar as is the selection here making this a must-have!

Sony Legacy planning 40th anniversary Graceland Sessions Release

In a recent interview, Sony Legacy senior vice president, A&R John Jackson revealed that Sony Legacy are already planning some releases for 2017, the 40th anniversary of Presley's death. 'We've got some interesting ideas', he admits. 'The 40th anniversary of some of the last (1976) recordings he made is coming up, so we're toying with the idea of how to best present those. NOW, we can reveal that some members of Elvis' TCB Band are at work in Memphis. They worked in secret on a special project in the recording studio 'Sam Phillips Recording', located on Madison Avenue. Also the people from Sony Music Entertainment were present, and Ernst Jorgensen, the major driving force behind the many products of 'Follow That Dream (FTD)'.
Elvis News > Elvis CD News > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

The Sweet Inspirations : Elvis Presley's Backup Group 1969-1977

The Sweet Inspirations were founded by 'Cissy' Houston (Born Emily Drinkard, married to Gary Houston at age 21 for two years) mother of Whitney Houston, and sister of Lee Warrick (herself the mother of well-known sisters, Myrna Smith's cousins Dee Dee and Dionne Warwick). Emily and Lee were members of The Drinkard Singers, a family group that had the distinction of recording the first Gospel album to appear on a major label: A live recording from The Newport Jazz Festival in 1959. The line-up included Judy Guions (who later became Judy Clay), Marie Epps, Larry Drinkard, Nicholas Drinkard, ...
Elvis Articles > Elvis Biography > Elvis News > By David Troedson

The Flip Side : Elvis Presley: The RCA Album Collection 60 CD Box Set

'The Album Collection' is now in stock and we have begun the rather large job of packing and sending out orders. (Should be completed by Friday). This is a delightful work from Sony, and to give you a different take on the set, and what very much caught our eye was the original back cover art that we do not get even with the FTD Classic album releases. A really nice, original touch. The original album packaging has been painstakingly restored including gatefold/die cut sleeves, original RCA Victor inserts, stickers and more. And the CD labels replicate original side 1 labels. This should be a center-piece in every home be it in playing the albums, or simply making a statement with its very presence!!!!
Elvis News > Elvis CD News > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Jessie D. McDowell (J.D.) Presley : Elvis Presleys Grandfather

Elvis Presley's Grandfather, Jessie D. McDowell (J.D.) Presley was born on April 9, 1896. We tell his story in great detail and with compassion, and include audio of his two songs he recorded in 1958. For the first time we name Elvis' great-grandfather on his father side and publish a photo of Elvis' great grand-mother, Rosella. Includes video, of Elvis' Grandfather Jesse D. Presley with his wife, Vera, on CBS TV in 1958 discussing his new record, his singing debut and hopes of becoming a success. Plus audio of the two songs he recorded, and released on record!!
Elvis Biography > Elvis Articles > Video and Audio > By David Troedson

'Elvis and Nixon' movie revealed - and it is a Comedy

The plot for the 'Elvis and Nixon' movie has been revealed with the release of the first trailer - and it is a COMEDY. The movie starring Michael Shannon and Kevin Spacey as Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon is scheduled for release in April 2016 and it looks like it will be a fun comedy. As it turns out, the movie is NOT about Elvis' visit to the White House' meeting President Richard Nixon in the Oval office on December 21, 1970, instead it is BASED on it, taking one fact and making a NON serious movie - well in fact it is clearly a very amusing comedy!!! View the trailer.
Elvis News > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Elvis Presley's BMW 507's

On December 21 1958, Elvis leased a BMW 507 from BMW Gloeckle. The car was a 'used' one and Elvis knew this, formerly driven by racing ace Hans Stuck. In August 1959 Elvis swapped the white sportscar at BMW Gloeckle for a red 507 which he drove until October 1959. Click the links for photos and information.
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : King Creole Frame By Frame 400 Page Hardcover Book

'They' say 'don't judge a book by its cover, but you can with King Creole Frame by Frame, it is a fine book and an equally fine start to the FTD, 'Elvis In Hollywood' book series. This release offers anyone interested in the movie a fantastic photographic and written word account. The book is hardcover, it well researched and well presented - and as the fantastic glossy cover indicates - the book is high quality throughout. The work of true Elvis fans, Erik Lorentzen and Pål Granlund and published by the Elvis Follow That Dream Collectors Label.

Review : If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra CD

There have been several attempts at an Elvis Presley remix album, none of which have worked. This one does! The songs don't and were never intended to replace the original masters, nothing ever could, but to my ears Sony Music have succeeded where others have failed – they have produced an album that that while remaining faithful to the style that was Elvis Presley have created a new listening experience. And this is what the album is, a new listening experience, not a replacement of his body of work. And importantly it is an album. One that Elvis would have - could have - gone into the studio to cut.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis CD Reviews > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Carl Perkins : Blue Suede Shoes and Elvis Presley

Carl Perkins first heard Elvis Presley singing 'Blue Moon of Kentucky' on the radio in the late Summer of 1954. Called to listed by his wife Valda as she thought the sound of the band was similar to that of Carl's.
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Elvis Presley: Singer, Actor and Football Player

Elvis : 'The thing I keep up with most is professional football'. When he wasn't on stage, in a studio or on the big screen, there's a good chance you could find Elvis Presley playing football. Elvis loved other sports, too, like karate and racquetball. But Elvis always found time for a quick game, and if he couldn't play it himself, he watched his favorite teams compete on TV. He often watched three Football games at once in the TV room at Graceland where he had installed three TV sets. Read the full article which includes 11 photos and links to more.
Elvis Articles > Elvis Photos > Video and Audio > By David Troedson

Live A Little Love A Little : MGM 1968

Elvis Presley's twenty-eighth movie was the 1968 MGM film 'Live A Little, Love A Little' directed by Norman Taurog, who had directed several previous Presley films. This was to be Taurog's final film. Principal photography began on 3/13/68. Locations included the Pacific Coast Highway near Malibu, Marineland, the Hollywood Citizen News building, the Los Angeles Music Center and the streets of the Hollywood Hills. The film introduced the song 'A Little Less Conversation' an alternative take of which would form the basis of a remix that returned Presley to international music sales charts in 2002.
Elvis' Movies > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Every Elvis fan ... needs a 'Change of Habit' ...

Change Of Habit' from FTD books is a high quality photo book covering Elvis Presley's last feature film with over 400 pages containing over 150 unpublished photos combined with interesting articles and interviews with cast and crew. To make this book really interesting, included are twenty six pages of candids taken by fans during 1969, all great shots, showing Elvis looking so good. And then there is the bonus CD, finally housed well at the back of the book, you can actually get the disc out easily.

Review : Elvis : Aloha Via Satellite Deluxe Hardcover Book

.. 'By Most Accounts Elvis was as happy and exhilarated as anyone around him had ever seen'. Once more presented with an artistic challenge, he embraced each day that brought the live show date nearer. He incessantly pondered his intended presentation, emphatically compiling and revising the set-list on a daily basis. Among the musical gems being considered were songs like 'The Wonder Of You', 'My Babe', 'The Impossible Dream', 'Suzy Q', and 'The Twelfth Of Never'. These selections were eventually omitted in favor of 'What Now My Love', 'Steamroller Blues', 'I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry', 'It's Over' and 'My Way'.

Jack Lord and Elvis Presley

Elvis Presley and Jack Lord first met on January 14, 1973 following Elvis' triumphant Aloha From Hawaii television special. Elvis made special mention that Jack was in the audience which completely 'floored' the Lords., 'One of my favorite actors is in the audience, Jack Lord, I gotta say that, you know, Hawaii 5-0'. Afterwards, they went backstage and met Elvis for the first time, and met later at The Lords home facing the ocean on the Oahu side of the island. They met again on February 10, 1973 in Las Vegas.
Elvis Articles > Elvis Interviews > By David Troedson

Jerry Reed and The Importance of Elvis Presleys Guitar Man Sessions

A look at Elvis' Guitar Man Sessions with Jerry Reed. Jerry Reed immediately took over the session, you can hear it from the first notes of the first take - Reed is coaching the musicians, encouraging them, egging them on, with Felton happy just to be presiding over some thing that is actually happening. There is a bright, shimmering surface to the music different in many respects from anything Elvis has ever recorded before but providing, at the same time, the kind of churning, driving rhythm that has characterized Elvis' music from the first. There is not the slightest question of Elvis' engagement. There is no self-deprecation, there is no wisecracking; all of the singer's attention is focused on the music. Completely updated.
Elvis Articles > Elvis Interviews > FTD > By David Troedson

Elvis Presley and Racism : The Ultimate, Definitive Guide

In April 1957, Sepia magazine, a white-owned sensationalist monthly for black readers, took up a discussion, 'How Negroes Feel About Elvis', as controversial then as it is today: the case of a white kid - Elvis Presley - who adopted black music and became the most successful artist of his time. When the 'establishment' accused Elvis Presley of being vulgar, of being deliberately sexual, they did not mean this. This was the cover for what was really meant, what was really feared, and that was that Elvis would lead to equal rights and racial integration. And not just Elvis any white person singing rock 'n' roll. Carl Perkins was warned to not do his show. Elvis was simply the number one guy and therefore got the most attention. Here is our definitive response to this nonsense. Read more.
Elvis & Racism > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Video & Audio Review : G.I. Blues : The Cafe Europa Sessions 4 CD Deluxe Set

The G.I. Blues : The Cafe Europa Sessions 4 CD Deluxe Set lived up to the pre-release publicity, in fact MRS sold themselves short in their description of the set !!! Cafe Europa is genuinely like a hardcover book with proper binding ... Putting the book 'aside', the four CDs contain nearly 4 hours of Elvis' officially UNRELEASED studio takes from the 'Café Europa' sessions, recorded for the movie ultimately titled G.I. Blues. The audio contained here includes the master recordings from the original soundtrack album 'G.I. Blues' plus, hours of alternate takes of all songs, with all the Elvis studio banter intact and, instilling new insight and live atmosphere into the complete making of this historic movie soundtrack. Elvis Presley Photos Elvis Presley MP3 Audio Video audio preview.
Elvis Reviews > Video and Audio > Elvis CD Reviews > By David Troedson

Elvis' movies and I : My review of the Hollywood Elvis DVDs

When I think about Elvis' movies, I sometimes think back to when I first 'discovered' Elvis Presley (January of 1978) and my first impressions of 'Elvis movies'. What I always recall is initially enjoying these films but cringing when Elvis would start singing, probably nothing against Elvis, just that to my mind movies were for acting not singing, as such I could not stand it when the story was interrupted But then after a while (probably) I learned to love both (So I assume this part) but then it developed (I assume slowly evolved) into actually watching the movies FOR Elvis' singing and as the movies got 'tired' as in I had seen them often I began to lose interest in the actual movie and just watch for the songs. Which (I guess) eventually led to a decline in overall interest.

Kris Kristofferson : Elvis was my Hero

I have had the most incredible experience tonight talking with Kris Kristofferson following his concert at the Palais Theatre. After Kris autographed my copy of one of his recent CD releases, and at the very moment he was pulling away from the fans at the gate having delighted all that braved the cold and waited in hope of an autograph, I asked him, 'Kris, what do you think of Elvis Presley's recordings of your songs?'
Elvis Articles > Elvis Interviews > By David Troedson

Review : Lisa Marie Presley In Concert : The Playhouse, Melbourne, March 25, 2014

The difference between Lisa Marie Presley's concert performance at the Melbourne Art Centre last night and that at Crown Casino Melbourne 10 years ago is vast - in short, it was one of the BEST live performances I have ever seen. Lisa's musical progression is remarkable. Largely based on her extraordinary critically acclaimed 'Storm & Grace' album the concert opened with a strong ...

Elvis Australia members name their favourite artists after Elvis

Elvis Australia members vote their top 5 favourite artists after Elvis. We asked our club members to nominate their top 5 favourite artists after Elvis. As I have come to know over the years, The Beatles are highly regarded and we in fact have a few die hard beatles fans on our list. So it is no real surprise to me that The Beatles top our list not only in over all votes but also well clear in the number of 'first' votes. From 1190 entries, with five votes per entry, we have a 'who's who' list including, Tom Jones, Roy Orbison, The Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen, The Beach Boys, Dean Martin Johnny Cash and Frank Sinatra.
Elvis Articles > Elvis News > By David Troedson

Review : The Elvis Files Volume 1 : 1953-1956 Deluxe Hardcover Book

With the release of the Elvis Files Volume 1 we finally have the first volume in this amazing series of books, a series of seven, this is in fact the 5th book issued with volumes 6 and 7 to be released in July and December this year respectively. And perhaps as is to be expected, this is the best production to-date, with many photos dated, mainly in the 1954/1955 section. [For reasons I will explain below]. The book features mostly high quality images and a vast amount of interesting reading via original articles penned for this release along with newspaper reprints from the relevant time. Read the review.

Remarkable stats for our Elvis Presley and Racism : The Ultimate, Definitive Guide

The statistics for our Elvis Presley and Racism : The Ultimate, Definitive Guide are astounding; the page has had just under 4000 page views in the past two weeks alone, since we highlighted the article on March 23, which is remarkable.  However what is astounding is the average time spent on the page, 1 hour 12 minutes, so people are really reading the article, we can't recall seeing anything like this before.
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : Prince From Another Planet : 40th Anniversary Madison Square Garden 2 CD + DVD Set

On first opening Prince From Another Planet' I was first surprised and then delighted by what I found. While the layout images presented prior to release were very good I was expecting a large 'digi-pack', and while that would have been very nice, the 'box set' presentation that Sony have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to produce is something extra special. Now the important stuff : How does it sound?
Elvis Reviews > Elvis Articles > Elvis CD Reviews > By David Troedson

Review : 3000 South Paradise Road FTD Special Edition 2 CD Set

Receiving both the Follow That Dream CDs, Back In Memphis and 3000 South Paradise Road on Friday I would have thought that 'Back In Memphis' would have been first into the CD player but possibly taken by the stunning artwork I decided to play '3000 South Paradise Road' and I found that it not only contains a brilliant performance by Elvis but quality sound to match, which in particular did more than surprise me. This is a unique performance by Elvis with stand out songs, What Now My Love, My Way, An American Trilogy and Fever ... of particular interest are Elvis' comments after My Way, where he says 'that's a very good song ... I wouldn't want to associate it with my own personal life ... now the end is near and all that jazz... it's a nice song, it's okay for Sinatra but ... I haven't even ate it up and spit it out yet, still chewing on it ...
Elvis Reviews > Elvis CD Reviews > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : Elvis By Request Concert Tour

As part of the promotion for the Elvis By Request CD, Sony Music Australia organized the 'Elvis By Request Concert Tour' with Anthony Petrucci as Elvis. I went to the Melbourne concert to see what it was really like.
Elvis Articles > Elvis Reviews > By David Troedson

Review : Graceland Through The Years 1957-1977 Hardcover Book

The release was a strictly limited edition release of only 2000 Copies worldwide. Boxcar are now SOLD OUT so we can now only obtain a few copies from suppliers indirectly. The hardback book measuring 12 x 10 inches and weighs over 3 Kilo's and is bound with a hardcover cardboard sleeve slipcase precisely like their previous sold out outing of 'The Final Curtain' from last year. The book contains 450 pages and includes over 1000 photos many of which are never before published with informative text (including Graceland's pre history before Elvis' time), original purchase documents, receipts, blueprints and much much more. It is the most comprehensive book on Graceland to date covering Elvis' time at his residence. Review | Buy.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis Book Reviews > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : The Complete Louisiana Hayride Archives 1954-1956 CD

I would like to say the MRS / JAT Productions release of The Complete Louisiana Hayride Archives 1954-1956 CD is a dream come true but I can't as there was no anticipation something like this would ever be released. For years now we have had the basic el cheapo compilation of the basic tracks but now we have a full CD with a running time of over 75 minutes that gives a very good overview of Elvis in concert in the 1950s.

Billboard Change Rules and Cheats Elvis of Ten [10] more No. 1 Hits

Billboard have yet again changed the 'rules' applying to the main prestigious Billboard Hot 100 Chart that was first launched on August 4th 1958 removing ten [10] Elvis Presley's number one hits [Not 11 as some have claimed] from his ledger. Now important to proving that Billboard have indeed changed the rules, something denied even by EPE in a message to Fan Clubs this past week is that in April 2008* they ruled that Elvis' classic double sided number one hit single, Hound Dog / Don't Be Cruel would no longer be counted as two separate number ones despite the fact they had done so since 1956. Read our full report + Feedback.
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Did Billboard Remove Elvis Presley's No. 1 Hits in 2008 : Not 2011 ?

Did Billboard in fact remove all 11 of Elvis Presley's number one hits in July 2008 and we have only just found out in November 2011? Perhaps it does not matter when they did it, we believe we have proven they did it, but the following suggests they did in fact do so in 2008. Was this a response to Elvis fans and even EPE disputing the matter and Billboard deciding to rid themselves of any debate? You can decide for yourself ...
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : 48 Hours To Memphis Concert CD from FTD

Review : 48 Hours To Memphis Concert CD from FTD.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis CD News > FTD > By David Troedson

Elvis Presley's Stutz Blackhawk's

Among many of Elvis Presley's prized cars was his Stutz Blackhawk's. Elvis was the first in America to own a Stutz, and probably his favouite car of the '70s was his 1973 Stutz Blackhawk III.
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Review : Fashion For A King & July 1, 1974 : Omaha, Nebraska Concert CD

The July 1, 1974 concert included with the new FTD book release, Fashion For A King proves that you do not have to have a stereo recording to have A grade sound quality. And this soundboard recorded concert is in A grade sound quality and it also may just about present us with Elvis' best concert performance from 1974, to my ears it is anyway. The sound is crystal clear and Elvis is in top vocal form, he certainly gives a far better overall performance, in my opinion, than the famous Recorded Live On Stage In Memphis concert recorded just three months prior ... The book is stunning ... a photo book ... also a tremendous photo book detailing Elvis' jumpsuit's and a detailed information book and then it is of course a great reference book ...

Review : Jailhouse Rock Volume 2 FTD Special Edition 2 CD Set

When it was announced that there would be two volumes of Jailhouse Rock in the Classic Album (Movie Soundtrack) series, I wondered how they could make four good CDs out of what was a movie with such few songs. Well after giving both discs of Volume 2 a spin, I can tell you the answer is they sure can.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis CD Reviews > FTD > By David Troedson

Elvis Presleys National TV Appearances In The 1950s

Elvis Presley first appeared on national television in the USA on January 28, 1956, on The Dorsey Brothers Stage Show in New York. On Monday, January 23, 1956, Elvis, Scotty Moore, Bill Black and D.J. Fontana rehearsed in Memphis for their television debut. Elvis and Colonel Parker flew to New York on Wednesday the 25th. They stayed at the Warwick Hotel on 52nd Street. Elvis ate dinner in the Hickory House restaurant the night they arrived and did some sightseeing on the 26th. Perhaps as an indicator of things to come, Scotty, Bill and D.J. were not afforded a plane trip and drove from Memphis to New York and arrived on January 27th.
Elvis Articles > Video and Audio > Elvis Photos > By David Troedson

Our Friend Pete Smith has Died

Sad news for us and those in the Elvis community that knew him, our friend Pete Smith who ran the website Apache Elvis for some years, going back to when many oif the Elvis websites started, has died.
Elvis News > By David Troedson

Book Review : Elvis Files Volume 2 : 1957-1959

Make no mistake this book is an important release, and essential, and to make it more so it is just one part of what will be a six volume set that no one will ever want to part with, the highlight of any bookshelf.
Elvis Reviews > Elvis Book Reviews > Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

Elvis Sings In The Movies: Twenty easy listening fun movie songs

Inspired by Troy's article, 'Elvis Sings In The Movies: His 25 Best Movie Songs', here is my latest compilation, it is what I am listening to now : Twenty easy listening fun Elvis movie songs ...
Elvis Articles > By David Troedson

View Some Great Photos from the Images II Hardcover Photo Book

View some great photos from the Elvis Presley: Images II Photo Book by Patick Janssen & Constantijn Zantingh. This is a very high quality photo book, with the best quality printing we have seen - Elvis would be very proud of this release, what more can we say? oh, buy it, you won't regret it.) .... Elvis Presley: Pan Pacific Auditorium, Los Angeles - October 28 & 29, 1957 (1), Elvis Presley: Greensboro, July 22, 1975 (1), Blue Hawaii, 1961 (1), Paradise Hawaiian Style, 1966 (1). [Plus one more ...]
Elvis Photos > Elvis Book Reviews > By David Troedson